A Morning Goal

Do you hit snooze when your alarm goes off in the morning? How many times? 

Or maybe you literally hit your alarm clock? 

I don’t. 

This isn’t a “I think I’m superior to you because I never use the snooze feature” statement. It’s a simple truth – I don’t use snooze, and most of the time, I awaken before the alarm even goes off. 

You probably get up after a few snooze cycles. 

The getting up part seems to be a stumbling block for me. I wake up before the alarm goes off, and I lay in bed, reading. There are articles to be read on MyFitnessPal or Facebook, or some random thought to Google, blogs to catch up on… it keeps me snug in my bed for a good hour (or more) after I wake up, unless I have something to do very early in the morning. That doesn’t happen much. 

That’s what I need to work on. When I do manage to drag my bones out of bed early, I am so much more productive. Being productive makes me feel more optimistic. 

So I’m setting a new goal for myself – getting out of bed earlier. Maybe not cold turkey, hopping out of bed the minute the clock strikes 6am… that’s crazy talk! Something more reasonable will make me more likely to stick to it. Maybe limiting my in-bed reading to 30 minutes will work. I’ll set a second alarm for 6:30, and then drag myself out of my warm, snuggly comfy, warm, not cold, cozy cacoon of toasty, relaxing warmer than my room covers (I hate to be cold), and get stuff done. 

Like going for a run… 

okay, I won’t get TOO crazy here. Forcing myself into the cold outsideness on top of getting out of bed earlier would just set me up for failure. 

Okay, so my goal is to be out of bed by 6:30 in the morning, for the rest of the year. Any suggestions for making this transition less difficult? Is there some way to make getting out of bed more appealing? Please? Any ideas would be welcome. 

Leave a Reply

